Amateur Nikesh, Amateur Journey: Looking Back 2016

Nikesh Balami
3 min readDec 29, 2016

Reflection is something that makes you emotional, at some point, you enjoy the taste of success and at some point, you almost cry remembering the journey you travel. Memories of old new friends make you fell sad and the enthusiasm of making your future bright push you harder to move forward. The year 2016 was one of the confused years for me, where I struggle to make a big decision, in the beginning, lost my Grandfather, planned something and did something else!! Here are some Ups and Downs of my journey of the year 2016, Where enthusiasm of junior was stronger than the pressure of senior, where people criticize me for my childish behaviors and at the same time some people supports my never giving up attitudes.

  1. Joining Acme once again
    A confused year and a totally confused decision made in 2015 and realized in 2016. Gaps, Bachelor Degree, Future, Friends and much more. Was Engineering my right decision, I doubt so but I am still confused. Let’s see how long I can go!!
  2. Launching Nepal Open Data Index
    The work of 2015 but was launched in January 2016, the result of crowdsourced open data survey done in 10 different districts of Nepal, which helps us to understand the condition of open data and technology in the local cities of Nepal.
  3. Organizing International Open Data Day 2016
    Officially the first event of the year, Yes once again we organize International Open Data Day in Kathmandu. This year we organize Datathon, where we collect the information of different Public Bodies of Nepal. Thanks go to awesome teams, supporters and well-wishers, with limited resources and time, we did something great that day.
  4. Loosing Grandfather started drinking alcohol
    One of the moments of 2016, which I never wanted to remember, yes never. Maybe that’s the reason why I started drinking alcohol, to forget that pain and memories. The pain of losing grandfather, the pain of being alone.
  5. FOSS Nepal PoC and celebrating SFD2016
    Working to shape the FOSS Nepal Community structure was another thing where I worked hard by bringing the concept of FOSS Nepal Person of Contact (PoC) but was unsuccessful at the end. Yes or Maybe, I don’t know but the Software Freedom Day 2016 celebration was a huge success. The preparation was good and execution was perfect, Kudos to the team, those new faces, and their enthusiasm. Ohh Gosh, I love them and miss them, they were awesome.
  6. Working on Open Data Handbook Nepali Version
    One of the 75% completed core project of Open Knowledge Nepal, where we work hard for translation, which isn’t really that much good but we did it. I personally work lots in writing so that we can do fundraising for that project, let’s see, we plan to launch that project in 2017 since the review of the handbook is still left.
  7. Virtually marking Open Access Week 2016
    For the third time in a row, I decided to mark the Nepal presence in Open Access Week. Since Open Access Week falls in festival season, it’s always challenging to celebrate it through physical events, my previous experience of organizing it says. But this year the plan was something different, We did QA with some know and active Open Access Activist of Nepal so we can gather the info about is the current situation and share it with others.
  8. Joining Code for Nepal as AskNepal Initiative lead
    I was always the secret well wishers of Code for Nepal, the things which they are doing or trying to do is really awesome. In October 2016, I decided to join them as an AskNepal Lead. A project which I think is very impactful in the context of Nepal.
  9. Receiving Shuttleworth Flash Grant
    The highlight of the 2016 end, being nominated by the Founder of Open Knowledge Internation for Shuttleworth Flash Grant to recognize my contribution in the field of Open Knowledge and Data in Nepal. I was one of the grantees of Flash Grant.
  10. Structuring Open Knowledge Nepal
    Last planning of 2016 and first work in To-Do list of 2017, giving right structure to the work and projects of Open Knowledge Nepal. Lots of works are already done, planning is in the right stage, let’s see how well we can execute it in the year 2017.

2017 I am ready!! Come on!!

--

--

Nikesh Balami

Interdisciplinary Stuffs - “Civic Entrepreneur, Open Data Advocate and Tech Researcher" / https://nikeshbalami.com.np